Momma Mel

The Fudge Brownie Experiment | January 22, 2013

Hey!

As many of you know, due to gallbladder issues plus pregnancy, I am on a very low fat diet. Desserts are hard to come buy that are low fat. Today, I am craving sweets- MUST HAVE SWEETS! I scrounged around the pantry looking for something, ANYTHING sweet, that wasn’t crazy high in fat and going to send me into a gallbladder attack. I found a Betty Crocker Low Fat Fudge Brownie mix and a can of pumpkin puree. So, here is my experiment to create a low fat brownie!

What you need:

Betty Crocker Low Fat Fudge Brownie Mix

1 Can of Pumpkin Puree (I used a can that was just pumpkin- no salt or anything added.)

1 Medium Banana (a mushy ripe one that no one would eat- the best kind for baking)

picture one

I stirred the baking mix and the pumpkin puree with a spoon. Then taste tested it. This concotion did NOT taste sweet. So I got out the hand mixer and mashed and blended a banana in to the mix.

picture four

Taste test? Yum!

I baked it in a 9×13 baking dish that I sprayed with Pam at 350 degrees for roughly 20 minutes, or until a knife came out clean. I let it cool, then cut it into 35 pieces- I made the pieces small since I have little people around and don’t really want them eating a big piece- the box said it made 18 squares, but these are just a perfect bite size sweet.

picture five

You ready for the best part?

Nutritional Information per Serving

(I entered the ingredients into myfitnesspal)

74 Calories

16 Carbs

1 Gram of Fat

This doesn’t even take into consideration the additional vitamins and nutrients from the pumpkin and banana! One can of pumpkin has 280% of the Vitamin A you need per day! I’m not saying eat the whole baking pan, but that’s got to count for something, right?

picture six

This recipe has been kid approved – the picky eater says: I don’t like it. I LOVE it!

Posted in Uncategorized
Tags:

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

A little bit about me- I am a Mom and a Wife as my full time job. We are a homeschooling family with four kids. I love Jesus, reading, crafting, tea, and nerdy stuff.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

